Search This Blog

Friday, December 27, 2013

Book Four: Principles of Endurance

Edward F. Lundwall Jr.

Book Four of Growth of a Faithful - “Principles of Endurance”

The endurance level of discipleship emphasizes overcoming temptation and distractions in order to be equipped for significant service. First Corinthians 9:24-25 says, "Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.”

Inevitably any growth in preparation for Christian service is tested by opposition from the flesh within (Gal. 6:9), and from conflicts from without and/or from worldly solicitation (Mat. 13:22). The deep reflection on God’s Word empowers the ability to endure and be victorious in spiritual warfare. Encounters with sin, the world system, and the Devil (Eph. 6:10– 20), force a deep dependence on Christ maturing and developing the disciple into a useful conduit in God’s kingdom and a harvester of souls outside of it. The purpose of Book Four, “Principles of Endurance,” is to help the disciple plumb the depths of his resources and the richness of the indwelling Christ (John 15:1-15; Eph 3:16–21).

Each level in “Principles of Endurance” enables the individual to stand firm when tests come, so that they will be confirmed and strengthened with maturation that comes only under fire. (James 1:2–4). Each reflects the cyclic characteristic of growth that is inherent in all of life. By cyclic growth means repeated application as life develops from one stage to another. For example, a baby first needs protection from forces outside himself that could destroy him. Included in this is a proper and constructive education. Without enduring practical and spiritual education, the influences of the world system will supply be destructive orientations and life style habits. Then, he needs that principle of protection as an adolescent from temptations coming from emerging desires. There can be further application to every new stage of development of life such as employment, marriage, parenthood, and spiritual life.

Therefore, endurance is to development what the contentment level is to the acceptance level. In development, the new direction of learning and training for spiritual service is accepted, but in the endurance level, these principles must be incorporated into a functioning degree of confident life style of overcoming obstacles faced in the midst spiritual service. (Eph. 4:11–16).

This fourth study booklet as well as all the others in the Growth of a Faithful series may be purchased singly for $2.50 or in packages of five for $10.00 by sending a money order or check to the following address: 

Edward Lundwall
107 Ridgecrest Circle
Rossville, GA  30741

Other Publications by Edward F. Lundwall Jr.

The Breath of God: Why study Greek?
The Disciple's Cross: Progressively exchanging life
How to Build a Disciple Making Church
Book 1: Growth of a Faithful (Acceptance of Foundational Precepts)
Book 2: Growth of a Faithful (Principles of Contentment)
Book 3: Growth of a Faithful (Principles of Development)

No comments:

Post a Comment